Welcome to the LRC's eMaterials!
The LRC subscribes to many databases and services that provide eBooks and eAudibooks for you to check out for free! The books can be read online or through different apps for your smartphone or tablet. Click through the tabbed box below to learn about how to sign up for and use each of the platforms available to you.
Borrow and read free eBooks and audiobooks from the library using your phone, tablet, or online at dogwood.overdrive.com.
It’s easy to get started―all you need is your RCCC email credentials.
You can read online or on your smartphone or tablet! To read on a mobile device, install the Libby app from the app store on your Android or iOS device. In Libby, follow the prompts to find your library (search Dogwood Digital Library or Roanoke-Chowan Community College) and sign in with your RCCC credentials when prompted. Once you've created your account, you can check out up to 5 titles for up to 21 days each. Happy Reading!
Find more detailed instructions for accessing Overdrive's Collection here:
hoopla is a digital service provided by Midwest Tape, one of the leading distributors of library materials. Through the NC Live database provided by the state of North Carolina, RCCC students can create a hoopla account to download eBooks and eAudiobooks for free! All you need to get started is your student email and a library card number.
Set up your free account by doing the following:
Once your account is set up, you can check out up to 10 titles for 21 days each!
You can also read online or on your smartphone or tablet! To read on a mobile device, install the hoopla Digital app from the app store on your Android or iOS device.
If you need additional help setting up or using hoopla, check out their Help section on their website or stop by the LRC and chat with one of our librarians.
NCLive's HomeGrown Collection features more than 4,000 eBooks and audiobooks published locally in North Carolina. All the titles can be checked out by any library user at any time with no waiting from a computer or mobile device. NCLive advises that you use the latest version of Chrome or Safari to read online though the collection can be accessed from any browser. Click this link to begin reading online.
If you have an iPad, Kindle Fire, or an Android tablet, you can download a title to read it offline. The BiblioBoard Library app is available for iPad®, Kindle Fire HD®, Nexus tablets® and Galaxy Tab® (4.0+) mobile devices.
Note: You must create an account on the BiblioBoard website first before logging into the app. Follow the instructions below:
Step 1: Visit the BiblioBoard website using the HomeGrown Ebook Collection link.
Step 2: Click on the "Menu" link in the upper-left corner.
Step 3: Click "Don't have a profile? Create Yours Now!" and create your own user account. (After filling in a username and password, you will be shown "Your Libraries." You should see your library's name listed with a checkmark next to it. Scroll down and click "Done.")
Step 4: Scroll down to the bottom of the page to the footer, and find the section labeled "We have an app for this!"
Step 5: Download the Biblioboard Library app from the Apple, Google Play, or Amazon app store and login using the account information created in step 3.
EBSCOhost provides access to thousands of eBooks through their different collections including the following (click on the collection titles to visit them):
Watch the video below to learn how to download eBooks to your mobile devices.
If you have additional questions, visit this site or drop by the library!
Proquest's Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete contains scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, art & leisure, and practical life skills.
You can browse and read their content online here, or download books to mobile your laptop or mobile device to read offline. Follow these instructions to download a title: