Subject Guides
Check out these guides for resources specific to certain classes and subjects:
Paper Formatting Help
The Modern Language Association (MLA)
The MLA style is most commonly used in the language arts and other humanities disciplines. If you need help citing in MLA style check out:
- A guide to the MLA format from Purdue Online Writing Lab a comprehensive guide that outlines formatting papers, in-text citations, works cited pages and more.
- The MLA Style Center Writing resources from the Modern Language Association including a quick guide, an interactive practice template, and advice for formatting a research paper.
Click on the playlist icon 
to explore the other videos included in the playlist.
Click on the playlist icon to explore the other videos included in the playlist.
American Psychological Association (APA)
APA style is a commonly used citation style in behavioral and social sciences. If you want to learn how to cite in APA style check out these resources:
- Purdue Online Writing Lab's APA Formatting and Style Guide (7th Edition) a comprehensive guide to citing using the APA style.
- Style and Grammar Guidelines [APA 7th edn.] this resource from the American Psychological Association lays out the styling conventions and citation formats for APA.
- The APA's Quick Citation Guide this quick 2 page guide covers the basics of APA style.
- APA format for academic papers and essays from Scribbr.
Click on the playlist icon to explore the other videos included in the playlist.
Click on the playlist icon to explore the other videos included in the playlist.
What is an annotated bibliography?
An annotated bibliography is a list of sources you use for your research that include a summary or analysis of the work.
Read more about annotated bibliographies and how to format them at these sources:
- Check out this page on Annotated Bibliographies from Perdue OWL. Here they break down the formatting of your annotated bibliography based on which citation style you use and have exercises to practice.
- Scribbr has a great page as well on examples and formatting of annotated bibliographies.
- Check out this in depth LibGuide from the University of Maryland Global Campus on How to Write an Annotated Bibliography in APA Style (7th Edition).
- CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
- Hoopla This link opens in a new windowDownloadable audio and ebooks on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. Compatible with most iPods and WMA compatible MP3 players. Users will need to make a personal account to access this resource. When registering for hoopla, users will be asked for an email address, and a library barcode.
- NC Live This link opens in a new windowNC Live includes an online collection of 1.4 billion full-text articles, eBooks, streaming videos, digitized newspapers, language learning tools, and more.
- Overdrive This link opens in a new windowBorrow and read free eBooks and audiobooks from our library using your computer, phone, or tablet. It's easy to get started―all you need is your RCCC email credentials. Log in for access, then you're set to start borrowing. You can also download the Libby by Overdrive app from your phone or tablet's app store to read on the go!
- Proquest This link opens in a new window
- LearningExpress and PrepStep This link opens in a new windowPractice tests, interactive tutorials, and ebooks for students adult learners. Includes practices tests such as GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS, and supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.
If you are prompted for username and password please enter the information as it is provided on our Digital Electronic Database Access Code Card. If you don't have an access card then please, call the library at (252) 862-1240 and we'll help you get logged on.
Like us on Facebook
Follow us on InstagramChat With a Librarian
Do you need help with Research after the Library has closed?
When the library at Roanoke-Chowan is closed, you can chat with a North Carolina Librarian using our ChatStaff feature.
Click the green "chat now" button below to start!
ChatStaff Hours
Monday-Friday 5pm - 8am
Saturday & Sunday : 8am-midnight
There is no coverage on federal holidays.
Reserve a Room
The LRC has 3 meeting rooms and a Computer Assisted Instruction (CAI) lab.
You can reserve any of these spaces, whether for a small meeting or to instruct individual class sessions. Call the circulation desk at (252) 862-1240 or click the button below to schedule a time to use the lab or a meeting room.