Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Learning Resources Center: Home

Contact the Library

Telephone: (252) 862-1240

Emaillrc@roanokechowan.edu


Visit us:

Jernigan Building-103

Roanoke-Chowan Community College

109 Community College Road,

Ahoskie, NC 27910

Library Cafe

Come enjoy some delicious coffee or tea for only $1! With your purchase, you get two creamers and sweetener. These funds go back to our student body, faculty and staff for programs and events. 

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources.

a magnifying glass with a book behind it and a search box containing the words "Search Our Catalog"

Check This Out!

Hey, check this out! We are promoting our awesome new video database Academic Video Online. There’s no end to the resources you can find on AVON. It even has amazing documentaries and shows from the greats like PBS, CNN, the BBC, HBO, the New York Times, National Geographic, and so much more more! Click here to check this free database out! https://rccclibrary.tiny.us/AVON

Borrow a Laptop and Hotspot from the Library

Do you need a laptop to do your school work? R-CCC Students can check out laptops and hotspots from the library! You can keep it until the end of the semester. Supplies are limited, so email the Library Director Carol Anne Hankinson, at cahankinson@roanokechowan.edu to get your request started. You can also find the link to our laptop and hotspot agreements on this page.

Explore Some of Our Databases

NC Live logo

NC Live

NC Live includes an online collection of 1.4 billion full-text articles, eBooks, streaming videos, digitized newspapers, language learning tools, and more

CREDO Reference Logo

CREDO Reference

CREDO Reference is a great starting spot for narrowing down a research topic. Credo's database has an A-Z topic listing, advanced search options, and directly links to R-CCC Library's catalog and databases.

Libby by Overdrive

Borrow and read free eBooks and audiobooks from our library using your computer, phone, or tablet. It's easy to get started―all you need is your RCCC email credentials. Log in for access, then you're set to start borrowing. You can also download the Libby by Overdrive app from your phone or tablet's app store to read on the go!

AVON- Academic Video Online

AVON hosts thousands of videos in the form of documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.

SIRS Issues Researcher logo

SIRS Issues Researcher

SIRS Issues Researcher (ProQuest) is a curated pro/con database that provides analysis of over 360 complex issues. If you are looking to learn more about the debate over an issue in ethics, science, schools, civil rights, or business SIRS Issues Researcher will be a great source for you.

Lippincott Nursing Advisor Logo

Lippincott Nursing Advisor

Lippincott Advisor is the single source for immediate, evidence-based, online nursing clinical-decision support. It delivers instant, 24/7 access to the latest evidence-based information that clinicians need at the point of care with over 17,000 monographs and patient teaching handouts.

Statista Logo

Statista

Find statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 18,000 sources on over 60,000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.

STAT!Ref - the premier healthcare source logo

STAT!Ref

STAT!Ref includes full-text nursing and allied health eBooks such as Davis' Drug Guide for Nurses, ICD-10-CM: Clinical Modification, Diseases and Disorders, PharmPrep, Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, and many more.

Hoopla Logo

Hoopla Digital

Downloadable audio and ebooks on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. Compatible with most iPods and WMA compatible MP3 players. Users will need to make a personal account to access this resource. When registering for hoopla, users will be asked for an email address, and a library barcode.

eBooks on EBSCOhost

Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online.

Gale

Gale offers a variety of resources for education, lifelong learning, and academic research. Whether you are looking for peer-reviewed articles; full-text magazines, newspapers, and eBooks; primary source documents; and videos or podcasts, Gale puts the right vetted content and tools at your fingertips! The password for the Gale databases is: learn

Proquest

ProQuest lets you search 18 databases that contain scholarly journals, books, videos & audio, dissertation & theses, newspapers & more. It has content spanning business, health, medical, social sciences, arts, humanities, education, science, technology, and dozens of other disciplines.

Click here to explore the rest of our databases!

We have more than 100 additional databases for you to choose from covering thousands of topics.

Today's Hours

Meet Our Librarians

Carol Anne Hankinson

Director of Library Services

Addie Holloman 
Library Services Assistant

Chat With a Librarian

Do you need help with Research after the Library has closed?

When the library at Roanoke-Chowan is closed, you can chat with a North Carolina Librarian at almost any time using our Chatstaff feature. Just click on the floating chat icon on the bottom right side of this page. If chat is unavailable it will show a green envelope.

 

Reserve a Room

The LRC has 3 meeting rooms and a Computer Assisted Instruction (CAI) lab.

You can reserve any of these spaces, whether for a small meeting or to instruct individual class sessions. Call the circulation desk at (252) 862-1240 or click the button below to schedule a time to use the lab or a meeting room. 

 

The LRC and the Distance Learning Department have partnered to create the Center for Technology and Innovation - a suite of rooms dedicated to giving the students of R-CCC access to cutting-edge technology and instruction. Currently, the CTI has a Lightboard and VR Headsets available for faculty to book for instructional purposes. For more information, call the circulation desk at (252) 862-1240. To book time in the CTI, please call the circulation desk or click the button below.