Arts Subject Guide
Virtual Concerts
Virtual Concerts
- NPR Tiny Desk ConcertsEnjoy these intimate concerts recorded live at NPR's Bob Boilen's desk.
- The Metropolitan OperaGo to the opera from your living room!
- New York Philharmonic Plays OnCatch a performance from The New York Philharmonic, the oldest symphony orchestra in the United States.
- Jazz LivestreamsSee an updated list of free jazz livestreams, compiled by the Lincoln Center.
- Rockport MusicFind classical, jazz, folk, and pop performances from Rockport Music at the Shalin Liu Performance Center.
Databases
If you are prompted for username and password please enter the information as it is provided on our Digital Electronic Database Access Code Card. If you don't have an access card then please, call the library at (252) 862-1209 and we'll help you get logged on.
Recommended Websites
- Getty Library Search Tools and DatabasesThe Getty Research Institute is dedicated to furthering knowledge and advancing understanding of the visual arts and their various histories. The Getty Library Search Tools and Databases webpage is a great resource that will link you to all their services. Search for open content, browse the free online search platform to find a number of digitized art history texts, or check out the art vocabulary dictionary.
- The Met - Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History"The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection. You can read brilliant essays about Andean Textiles or Caligraphy in Islamic Art or perhaps you'd prefer to browse a gallery of the thousands of gorgeous items in the Met's collection?"
- ColourLexColourLex is a project situated in the common ground between science and art. To appreciate a work of art in all its implications, one has to understand the technique of the painter and to know the materials used in its creation. On this site you can find information about how scientists investigate paintings, information about the pigments in paints, and resources on paintings, painters, pigments and the scientific methods used to investigate them.
- The American Archive of Public BroadcastingThe American Archive of Public Broadcasting houses historic programs of publicly funded radio and tv in America. You can listen to old radio programs, orchestras, concerts, and more!
- The Library of Congress Performing Arts DatabaseFind materials on music, theater, and dance in the Library of Congress collections.
- Smithsonian MusicExplore all the musical resources Smithsonian has to offer including audio recordings, lectures/events, and articles.
Explore thousands of online museum exhibits
- Google Arts and CultureGoogle Arts and Culture is a non-profit initiative that is working to make art and cultural materials more accessible by gathering them together online. Explore exhibits from 2,500 and check out the latest experiments and harmonize with Bach or add to a collective poem.
What is Art?
The Art Assignment is a weekly PBS Digital Studios production hosted by curator Sarah Urist Green. The channel explores art and art history through the lens of things happening today. Check for new episodes every other Thursday!
Chat With a Librarian
Do you need help with Research after the Library has closed?
When the library at Roanoke-Chowan is closed, you can chat with a North Carolina Librarian at almost any time using our Chatstaff feature. Just click on the floating chat icon on the bottom right side of this page. If chat is unavailable it will show a green envelope.