Skip to Main Content

Your Book Match: History

Welcome to our history reads recommendations! Below you'll find a gallery of books we have in our collection that we think you will like! Click the arrows to scroll through the titles and click on one you'd like to learn more about to see its catalog entry. If we have an eBook or eAudiobook version of the title in our collection, there will be a link to it at the bottom of the book's description.

Reads

Triumph at Kitty Hawk: The Wright brothers and Powered Flight

Examines the Wright brothers' exploits from a North Carolina perspective and focuses on the major role played by Tar Heels in the successful flights at Kitty Hawk. Includes a chapter on aviation in North Carolina before 1903, featuring early Tar heel aeronauts and their attempts to fly. Illustrations include photographs of scenes around Kitty Hawk and of local residents who helped the Wrights.

Caste: The Origins of Our Discontents

Here, Wilkerson reframes the United States' history of racial disparities and racism as a classic caste system, and compares America's caste system with those operating in India and Nazi-era Germany. She identifies the eight "pillars of caste" that can be clearly observed in all three systems. In one very memorable and disturbing passage, she describes how the Jim Crow laws of the American South served as inspiration and model for the anti-Semitic, racist Nuremberg laws enacted in 1935 Germany. Narrator Robin Miles is a perfect choice to read this work. She amplifies and grounds the content with a steady, calm, and clear voice, even when the material is especially chilling and ugly. VERDICT Caste should be required listening/reading for every engaged American. Recommended for all libraries in multiple formats.—Kristen L. Smith, Loras Coll. Lib., Dubuque, IAAn enchanting debut romance; Wilkerson's powerful examination of American societyvideo COMINGATTRACTIONSForthcoming Releases on DVD/Blu-ray By Jeff T. Dick, Davenport, IA

(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
 
We also have eBook and eAudiobook versions of this title available on Libby. Click here to check them out!

Black Flags: The Rise of ISIS

Pulitzer Prize-winning Washington Post reporter Warrick (The Triple Agent) describes the genesis and development of a terrorist group that is best known in the West as the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS). In 1999, the government of Jordan granted amnesty to a group of prisoners that included Abu Musab al-Zarqawi, a man convicted by Jordanian authorities for masterminding terrorist activities in that country. The U.S. invasion and occupation of Iraq in 2003 brought Zarqawi to the forefront of a lethal anti-American Sunni insurgency. Zarqawi's movement called itself al-Qaeda in Iraq. Zarqawi was killed in a U.S. airstrike against his hideout in 2006 and al-Qaeda in Iraq eventually morphed into today's ISIS. When the Syrian civil war began in 2011, ISIS took advantage of the power vacuum in Syria and Iraq by controlling strategic areas in both countries, declaring the establishment of an Islamic caliphate, and unleashing a reign of terror in the area that has resulted in countless acts of political brutality and savagery. Warrick uses a variety of documents and high-level access to CIA and Jordanian sources to present a coherent history. VERDICT An informative book for those who want to gain an understanding of one of the most dangerous extremist groups in today's world.-Nader Entessar, Univ. of South Alabama, Mobile © Copyright 2015. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

American history : A Visual Encyclopedia

Uncover the key moments that shaped American history in this extensive history encyclopedia for children.

Get the background on the Battle of Yorktown and discover what started the American Revolution. Learn the legends of the Wild West. Relive the atmosphere of the "Roaring Twenties." Covering everything from the cultures of the first Native Americans right up to the events of the present day, American History: A Visual Encyclopedia is the ultimate reference tool for exploring the history of one of the most remarkable nations in the world.

Created in collaboration with the Smithsonian Institution, American History: A Visual Encyclopedia gives detailed historical information and brings it to life with more than 750 photographs and paintings, plus extensive maps, charts, and state-specific information. Each double-page spread focuses on one aspect of the nation's history, be it the Civil War or civil rights, the Great Depression or the Moon landing. Complete texts of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution are included in the book for easy reference for classroom work or reports.

Perfect as both an irreplaceable homework help and a fascinating read, American History: A Visual Encyclopedia showcases the incredible journey the United States of America has made to become a major 21st century power.

Displacement

Kiku is on vacation in San Francisco when suddenly she finds herself displaced to the 1940s Japanese-American internment camp that her late grandmother, Ernestina, was forcibly relocated to during World War II.These displacements keep occurring until Kiku finds herself "stuck" back in time. Living alongside her young grandmother and other Japanese-American citizens in internment camps, Kiku gets the education she never received in history class. She witnesses the lives of Japanese-Americans who were denied their civil liberties and suffered greatly, but managed to cultivate community and commit acts of resistance in order to survive. Kiku Hughes weaves a riveting, bittersweet tale that highlights the intergenerational impact and power of memory.